Abingdon Bowling Club
Home
General Information
About the Club
The People
Wednesday Mixed League
Fixtures and Results
Short Mat Bowling
Forthcoming Events
Preston Cup
Annual Club Tours
Club Competitions
Team Selection
More Photos
Links to Other Sites
Address and Map
Contact Us
New Members Information
Information Leaflet
New Membership Form
Etiquette and Dress Code
 
 

Abingdon Bowling Club formed a short mat bowling section in 2014 to operate annually from late September to early April.
We entered a team in the Oxfordshire Short Mat Bowling Association (OSMBA) afternoon league under the name of Abingdon Park Rangers and in the evening league division two under the name of Abingdon 'Knights'. In the second year we were able to add a second team the 'Optimists' in the afternoon league.
Now in our third year we have had enough interest and support to increase our league presence to three afternoon teams and one evening team.

A committee was formed consisting of

Chairperson Geoff Bailey Tele 01235 525464
Secretary Janet Hickman Tele 01235 531745
League Representative Terry Clift Tele 01235 526042
Park Rangers Captain Roy Paskin Tele 01235 521211
Ascendants Captain Peter Jennaway Tele 01235 410347
Optimists Captain John Faint Tele 01235 521025
Knights Captain Peter Rogers Tele 01865 391037
Committee Members Jean Bice
Geoff Nash
 

The mats will be put down for the season on Thursday 27 September 2018
Roll up sessions will commence Friday 28 September 2018, then Mondays and Tuesdays from 1:30pm to 4pm and Fridays from 10am to 12noon
For 2018/2019 we have three teams in the afternoon league and one team in the evening league.

SHORT MAT FIXTURES FOR 2018-19                                                                                 SHORT MAT FIXTURES FOR 2018-19
Park Rangers Optimists Ascendants Knights
Week Date Play Time Venue Opposition Date Play Time Venue Opposition Date Play Time Venue Opposition Date Play Time Venue Opposition
1 Free Week                       Free Week      
2 Thu 04-Oct-18 14:00 Away Woodcotes Wings Tue, 02 Oct 18 14:00 Away Stanford 'Greys' Fri, 05 Oct 18 14:00 Home Chosley 'Chaffinches' Thu 04-Oct-18 19:30 Home Didcot Hounds
3 Fri 12-Oct-18 14:00 Home Benson Wed, 10 Oct 18 14:00 Home Abingdon ' Ascendants' Wed, 10 Oct 18 14:00 Away Abingdon 'Optimists' Thu 11-Oct-18 19:30 Away Benson
4 Wed 17-Oct-18 14:15 Away Aston Wed, 17 Oct 18 14:00 Away Didcot Bowls Club 'Buzzards' Fri, 19 Oct 18 14:00 Home Woodcote 'Woodpeckers' Thu 18-Oct-18 19:30 Home Harwell Harlequins
5 Fri 26-Oct-18 14:00 Home Didcot Red Kites Free week       Free week       KO Cup      
6 Fri 02-Nov-18 14:00 Home Drayton Wasps Bye       Thu, 01 Nov 18 14:00 Away Harwell 'Swifts' Bye      
7 Bye       Wed, 07 Nov 18 14:00 Home Drayton 'Hammers' Bye       Tue 06-Nov-18 19:30 Away Challow Windymillers
8 Bye       Thu, 15 Nov 18 14:00 Away Chosley 'Chaffinches' Fri, 16 Nov 18 14:00 Home Didcot Bowls Club 'Buzzards' Thu 15-Nov-18 19:45 Home Wootton Warriors
9 Free week       Free week       Free week       KO Cup Rd 2      
10 Thu 29-Nov-18 14:00 Away Harwell Eagles Wed, 28 Nov 18 14:00 Home Harwell 'Swifts' Tue, 27 Nov 18 14:00 Away Stanford 'Greys' Mon 26-Nov-18 19:30 Away Harwell Hares
11 Fri 07-Dec-18 14:00 Home Stanford Blues Wed, 05 Dec 18 14:00 Home Woodcote 'Woodpeckers' Tue, 04 Dec 18 14:00 Away Drayton 'Hammers' Thu 06-Dec-18 19:30 Home SO Three Swans
12 Wed 12-Dec-18 14:00 Away Kingston Kites Free Week       Free Week       Wed 12-Dec-18 19:45 Away Hanney
13 Free Week       Free Week       Free Week       Free Week      
14 Christmas Free Week       Christmas Free Week       Christmas Free Week       Christmas Free Week      
15 New Year Free Week       New Year Free Week       New Year Free Week       New Year Free Week      
16 KO Cup Rd 3       KO Cup Rd 3       KO Cup Rd 3       KO Cup Rd 3      
17 Mon 14-Jan-19 13:30 Away Benson Thu, 17 Jan 19 14:00 Away Woodcote 'Woodpeckers' Fri, 18 Jan 19 14:00 Home Drayton 'Hammers' Thu 17-Jan-19 19:30 Home Benson
18 Fri 25-Jan-19 14:00 Home Aston Wed, 23 Jan 19 14:00 Home Didcot Bowls Club 'Buzzards' Thu, 24 Jan 19 14:00 Away Woodcote 'Woodpeckers' Mon 21-Jan-19 19:30 Away Harwell Harlequins
19 Tue 29-Jan-19 14:00 Away Drayton Wasps Fri, 01 Feb 19 14:00 Away Abingdon ' Ascendants' Fri, 01 Feb 19 14:00 Home Abingdon 'Optimists' Bye      
20 Free week       Free week       Free week       KO Cup      
21 Bye       Tue, 12 Feb 19 14:00 Away Drayton 'Hammers' Bye       Thu 14-Feb-19 19:30 Home Challow Windymillers
22 Wed 20-Feb-19 14:00 Away Didcot Red Kites Bye       Fri, 22 Feb 19 14:00 Home Harwell 'Swifts' Wed 20-Feb-19 19;45 Away Wootton Warriors
23 Fri 01-Mar-19 14:00 Home Harwell Eagles Thu, 28 Feb 19 14:00 Away Harwell 'Swifts' Fri, 08 Mar 19 14:00 Home Stanford 'Greys' Thu 28-Feb-19 19:30 Home Harwell Hares
24 Free week       Bye       Bye       Free Week      
25 Tue 12-Mar-19 14:00 Away Stanford Blues Wed, 13 Mar 19 14:00 Home Chosley 'Chaffinches' Wed, 13 Mar 19 14:00 Away Didcot Bowls Club 'Buzzards' Mon 11-Mar-19 19:15 Away SO Three Swans
26 Fri 22-Mar-19 14:00 Home Kingston Kites Bye       Bye       Thu 21-Mar-19 19:30 Home Hanney
27 Fri 29-Mar-19 14:00 Home Woodcotes Wings Wed, 27 Mar 19 14:00 Home Stanford 'Greys' Thu, 28 Mar 19 14:00 Away Chosley 'Chaffinches' Thu 28-Mar-19 19:30 Away Didcot Hounds
28                         Free Week      
29                         KO Cup      
30                         KO Cup